IODA Asian & Oceanian Optimist Championship 2016

We are pleased to inform you that the Yachting Association of Sri Lanka has successfully bid for the INTERNATIONAL OPTIMIST DINGHY ASSOCIATION ASIAN &OCEANIAN CHAMPIONSHIP (IODA), 2016. The Optimist is the most popular youth class (15 years and under) sailing dinghy, of which some 200,000 have been manufactured to date & sailed.

The 2016 Asian & Oceanian Championships will be held in Trincomalee from 28th May to 5th June, sailing off the beach in the vicinity of the Cinnamon Blu Hotel.

Optimists are designed for kids. They can handle them without danger, fear or back-strain. It is quite simply, the boat in which the young people of the world learn to sail. It is also the fastest growing single handed boat.

We are happy to mention that we were able to hold the IODA Asian 2012 at the same venue and the Foreign Country Representatives who were overwhelmed with the arrangements commented that this was one of the best organized IODA Event they had participated in recent history.

As you are aware, a total of 50 boats competed in the 2005 Enterprise Worlds & another 48 boats in 2010 GP-14 Worlds Regatta hosted by the Yachting Association of Sri Lanka, which were very successful completed events.

It is expected that the IODA Asian & Oceanian Championship 2016 Sri Lanka event will attract close to 120 boats, from all the Asian countries, Oceania & Middle East. We expect at least fourteen entries from Sri Lanka and each of the other participating countries will be eligible to enter a maximum of seven entries.

We have established a web page for the Sri Lanka event, which can be viewed at

We sincerely hope you consider taking part in the 2016 IODA Asian Championships in Sri Lanka from 28th May to 5th June 2016.




Hon. Dayasiri Jayasekara Minister of Sports
Vice Admiral Ravindra Wijayagunaratne Commander of the Sri Lanka Navy
Mr. Hemasiri Fernando President, National Olympic Committee of Sri Lanka


Mr. Joseph Kenny  


Mrs. Praneeta Goonawardene  


Mr. Anil Gunawardene  
Mr. Lalin Jirasinha  
Mr. Asanka Goonawardene  
Mr. Sarath Kuragama  


Mr. Joseph Kenny  


Mrs. Praneeta Goonawardene  


Mr. Lalin Jirasinha Chairman – Race Management Committee
Mr. Chandima Gunawardene Chairman – Finance Committee
Mr. Anil Gunawardena Chairman- IT, Results , Marketing & Communication Committeee
Mr. Asanka Goonawardene Chairman – Sponsorship Committee
Mrs Praneeta Goonawardene Chairperson – Registration, Arrival, Departure, Transport , Accommodation & Hospitality Committee
Capt Senaka Senaviratne Chairman- Rescue, Beach Operations, Launching & Retrieving, Opening & Closing Ceremonies Committee
Mr. Buddhika Iddamalgoda Chairman – Media & Publicity Committee
Mr. Dilan De Mel Chairman – Logistics Committee
Mr. Sarath Kuragama Chief Operating Officer (COO)

Race Management Committee

Chairman Mr. Lalin Jirasinha
Secretary Mr. Asita Tennekoon (Measurments)
Members Capt. Per Svendsen (Conduct the Races)
  Mrs B. Wimaladharma (Jury)
  Mr. Kapila Kumara
  Mr. Chanaka Kumara
  SPO W.A.R.Nishantha

Finance Committee

Chairman Mr. Chandima Gunawardene
Secretary Mr. Majid Awn

Sponsorship Committee

Chairman Mr. Asanka Goonawardene
Secretary Mr. Murad Ismail
Members Mr. Joseph Kenny

Registration, Arrival, Departure, Transport, Accommodation & Hospitality Committee

Chairman Mrs. Praneeta Goonawardene
Secretary Mr. Devin Goonawardene

IT, Results, Marketing & Communication

Chairman Mr. Anil Gunawardene
Secretary Mr. Duncan Fraser

Media & Publicity Committee

Chairman Mr. Buddhika Iddamalgoda
Secretary Mr.Thusal Gunawardene
Member Mr. Hans Svendsen
Member Mr. Suneragiri Liyanage
Member Mr. Kaif Sally
Member Mr. Mayukha Dahanayaka Siriwardene

Logistics Committee

Chairman Mr. Dilan De Mel
Secretary Mr. Kapila Kumara
Mr. Chanaka Kumara

Rescue, Beach Operations, Shore Facilities, Launching & retrieving, Opening & Closing Ceremonies Committee

Chairman Capt. Senaka Senaviratne
Secretary Com C.T.Gunaratne

Chief Operating Officer (COO)

Mr. Sarath Kuragama